The Golden Chariot

The Golden Chariot train was commissioned in 2008 by Karnataka Tourism in association with Ministry of Railways, Government of India and Ministry of Tourism, Government of India to provide the discerning rail travelers, an option to explore the history and culture of Karnataka in the luxurious comforts of a specially designed train.


The train features 11 guest carriages with 04 guest cabins in each with en-suite bathrooms. The guest cabins are a mix of 13 Double Bed Cabins, 30 Twin Bed Cabins and 1 Cabin for specially abled, where liveried Valets attend to each guest requirements. The two restaurants, Ruchi and Nalpaka, serve delectable meals from various parts of the world coupled with an array of Indian options. Madira, the bar serves choicest wines, beers and spirits.

Arogya, the Spa cum Health Club combines traditional Auyrvedic Spa therapies and modern workout machines for the guests to rejuvenate their mind, body and soul. A Business Center enables the modern day traveler to attend to business requirements also.

Itineraries on the Golden Chariot train are an eclectic mix of history, culture, nature and tradition of South India. The itineraries are paced to allow the travelers soak in the majestic landscape, visit important spots at each destination and relax onboard in the comforts of the train.


The Golden Chariot luxury train tour offers a plethora of highlights for guests to experience and enjoy. Here are some of the key highlights:
  • Luxurious Accommodations: The Golden Chariot offers luxurious cabins equipped with modern amenities, comfortable beds, and elegant decor.
  • Gourmet Dining: The train features two restaurants serving a variety of cuisines, including local specialties and international fare, all prepared by expert chefs.
  • Cultural Immersion: The train's itineraries are designed to showcase the rich cultural heritage of South India, including visits to historical landmarks, ancient temples, and traditional markets.
  • On-board Spa and Gym: Guests can relax and rejuvenate with the train's spa services and well-equipped gym.
  • Exclusive Experiences: The Golden Chariot offers a range of exclusive experiences, such as a ride on an elephant, a visit to a tea plantation, and a traditional South Indian dance performance.
  • Personalized Service: The train's staff provides attentive and personalized service, ensuring that guests have a memorable and comfortable journey.

Overall, the Golden Chariot luxury train tour offers an unforgettable travel experience that combines luxurious accommodations, gourmet dining, cultural immersion, and exclusive experiences, all while traveling through some of the most stunning landscapes of South India.

Outline Itinerary

PRIDE OF KARNATAKA (6 Nights/7 Days)
Destinations: Bengaluru – Bandipur – Mysore - Halebidu – Chikamangalur – Hampi – Badami – Pattadakal – Aihole – Goa - Bengaluru
Day 01           Sunday (Bengaluru to Bandipur)
Arrive at Yeshwantpur Railway Station at around 8:30 AM. Proceed on a fabulous journey at 09:30 AM after welcome and registration. Lunch shall be served onboard. Proceed for a game drive at Bandipur from Nanjangud Town, approx. 50 km from Bandipur.  Return to the train for Dinner.
Day 02           Monday (Mysore)
After breakfast onboard, proceed to visit the Mysore Palace. Return to the train for Lunch. Visit Srirangapatnam as an optional excursion. Dinner shall be served onboard.
Day 03           Tuesday (Halebidu - Chikamangalur)
After onboard breakfast proceed to visit the Hoyasaleshwara temple at Halebidu. Enjoy Lunch as the train proceeds to Chikamangaluru. In the evening visit a plantation resort and enjoy dinner with cultural activities.
Day 04           Wednesday (Hampi)
After breakfast onboard, proceed to visit the capital of Vijayanagara kingdom - Hampi. A UNESCO World Heritage site, the ruins at Hampi tell a tale of opulence and grandeur of the kingdom. Return to the train for lunch. In the evening relax onboard or visit Anegundi as an Optional Activity.
Day 05           Thursday (Badami, Pattadakal and Aihole)
After onboard breakfast relax onboard or proceed on an Optional Tour to Badami Cave Temples. Climb around 200 steps to witness the cave architecture. Return to the train for lunch. After lunch proceed to visit the UNESCO World Heritage of Pattadakal followed by a visit to Aihole. Return to the train for dinner as the train proceeds to Goa.
Day 06                       Friday (Goa)
After onboard breakfast proceed to visit the Churches of North Goa. Return to the train for lunch. In the evening proceed for an exhilirating evening of Goan music and dance followed by dinner. Return to the train as it proceeds to Bengaluru.
Day 07           Saturday (Bengaluru)
Breakfast shall be served onboard as the train arrives into Yeshwantpur Railway Station at around 11.00 AM. De-board as the journey ends.
*As we shall be visiting a number of sites which require long walks, steep climbs and removal of shoes, it is requested to carry comfortable walking shoes. Wherever required, disposable footcovers shall be provided.
*Itinerary is subject to change based on railway timings, local conditions etc. 


The Pride of Karnataka train schedule for the season 2023-24 and 2024-25 is as follows:

Departure Dates Season 2023-24
Train: Pride of Karnataka (5 Nights/6 Days)
Trips: 6

Month/Day Saturday
Sep. 2023 30
Oct. 2023 28
Nov. 2023 25
Dec. 2023 23
Jan. 2024 20
Feb. 2024 17
Mar. 2024 --

Departure Dates Season 2024-25
Train: Pride of Karnataka (5 Nights/6 Days)
Trips: 6

Month/Day Saturday
Oct. 2024 19
Nov. 2024 16
Dec. 2024 14
Jan. 2025 04
Feb. 2025 01
Mar. 2025 01

Note: The itineraries, destinations, venues, and scheduled departures are subject to change without prior notice.


The Golden Chariot Luxury Train Tour commences from Bengaluru, the capital city of Karnataka, located in South India. The train departs from Yeshwantpur Railway Station in Bengaluru, where guests are welcomed with traditional Indian hospitality and can begin their luxurious train journey through the Southern region of India.